Skip to main content

Religion and Theology: Home

Resources for Distance Learning at Calvin Theological Seminary

For CTS Distance Learning users, be sure to check out the Hekman Library Distance Learning Guide.

Database Trials

Until May 29, 2015 we have a database trial for

The Canterbury Dictionary of Hymnology
Users visiting www.hymnology.co.uk from our IP address range will be logged in automatically and can view all articles in full.

Depth: It contains 2 million words, over 4000 individual entries and more than 300 authors from over 30 countries writing on hymns of the Judaeo-Christian tradition, from the earliest years to those written today.
Breadth: It includes articles on individual hymns, authors from many countries, hymnals, organisations, and themes, as well as information on hymn tunes and their composers.
Scope:
The work covers a multitude of hymn traditions from all the world’s continents, regions, and denominations,  it is ecumenical and international.
Accuracy and updates:
Published online to allow for regular additions, amendments and corrections

Core Research Database for Religion and Theology

For a comprehensive list, see the above tab "Databases for Religion and Theology."

Loading

Citation Styles at CTS

Calvin Theological Seminary papers and theses are normally written using the citation styles in Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 8th ed.(Chicago, 2013)  It presents two basic documentation systems:

  • Notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style)
  • Parenthetical citations–reference list style (or reference list style)

These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. (Chicago, 2010), with slight modifications for the needs of student writers.   The library has an online subscription to the current (and regularly updated) 16th ed., which you can access through the link in the library catalog:  Chicago Manual of Style online .

Papers written for biblical studies courses should follow the SBL Handbook of Style for Biblical Studies and Related Disciplines, (2nd edition) ed. Billie Jean Collins, et al. (Atlanta: SBL Press, 2014). This generally follows Turabian/Chicago, with some significant modifications. If you don't have access to the complete print guide, there is a helpful Student Supplement to the SBL Handbook of Style (pdf) (revised February 2015), ed. Joel M. Lemon.

Citation Tools

Subject Guide

Lugene Schemper
Contact:
Hekman Library, HL 423
(616)526-6121
Website / Blog Page

New Books in Religion

Author interviews of new publications in Religion compiled by the New Books Network. Although the library may not (yet!) own all of them, this podcast is a a great resource.

Loading