Skip to main content

Children's and Young Adult Literature: Children's and YA Lit Awards

The Caldecott Medal

undefinedThe Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

See a list of all winners here.

2018 Caldecott Medal Winner

The Newbery Medal

Image result for newbery medalThe Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.

See a list of all winners here.

2018 Newbery Award Winner

The Printz Award

Image result for the printz awardThe Printz Award was named in honor of Michael L. Printz, a school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. It is awarded annually to the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.

See a list of all winners here.

2018 Printz Award Winner

Award Winners at Hekman

The library orders many of the American Library Association's (ALA) children's and young adult book award winners.  Search our catalog to find titles associated with the awards below.

ALA Children's Literature Book Awards

Image result for batchelder awardThe Batchelder Award is given to the most outstanding children's book originally published in a language other than English in a country other than the United States, and subsequently translated into English for publication in the United States.


Image result for pura belpre award

The Pura Belpré Award is presented to a Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience in a work of children's literature.


Image result for coretta scott king award

The Coretta Scott King Awards are given to African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation for African American culture and universal human values.


Image result for geisel award

The Geisel Award is given to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished American book for beginning readers.


Image result for sibert award

The Sibert Medal is awarded to the author(s) and illustrator(s) of the most distinguished informational book for children.


Related image

The Wilder Award honors an author or illustrator whose books have made, over a period of years, a substantial and lasting contribution to literature for children. 

ALA Young Adult Book Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults.


Image result for edwards award

The Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.



Image result for morris awardThe Morris Award honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating new voices in young adult literature.



YALSA nonfiction awardThe YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction is given to the best nonfiction book published for young adults.


Searching for other Award-Winning Books