Admin Sign In 

Citing Sources 

Resources and tips for citing sources
Last update: Sep 18, 2009 URL: http://libguides.calvin.edu/citing  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home             Print Page
  
 

Featured Resources

 

       

In Spring 2009, the Modern Language Association (MLA) released the seventh edition of MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers.  This edition includes a number of changes in its citation rules.  See this helpful overview from Purdue's Online Writing Lab (OWL) of the changes.  (Since the changes are so new, note that many handbooks such as St. Martin's may not yet have incorporated the new rules, and some professors may still want you to use the older style.  Always ask your professor about his/her citation expectations!)

The American Psychological Association (APA) has also just released a new (6th) edition of its Publication Manual.  It contains citation guidelines previously published (2007) in a specific guide for electronic references.

 

What Style Should You Use?

Your professor will usually specify the citation style required for your paper or project. Always check with him or her about any specific questions regarding expectations and requirements. Some general guidelines, though:

MLA style - typically used in the Humanities (e.g., English)

APA style - used for Social Sciences (e.g., Psychology, Sociology)

Chicago style - used in History; also, a version of Chicago style, Turabian, is often used in Calvin Religion and Seminary courses

 
 

MLA, APA, and Chicago Styles

MLA, APA, and Chicago styles are the three most common documentation styles required by Calvin professors. The rules and guidance for these styles are provided the manuals listed below. They can be found in print in the library's Reference Collection and also at the Research Assistance Desk:

Note that a number of online tools and resources may offer citation help, but they are not always correct nor cover every situation. The style manuals are considered the authorities for citation and formatting rules.

You may also want to check the official websites for these styles: MLA, APA, Chicago.

 

Citation Generators

Citation generators are online tools that create your citations for you (you just need to enter the information):

KnightCite Use KnightCite, Calvin's own citation generator (works with MLA, APA, and Chicago styles).

Or try:

  • NoodleTools (MLA and APA) - Try the free version, NoodleBib Express
  • Citation Machine (MLA, APA, Chicago) - another free citation generator
  • Microsoft Word 2007's citation generator (under the References tab)
 

Citation Help in the Research Databases

Thomson-Gale databases provide two sources of citation help. For most items, look at the bottom of the record to find the "Source Citation" in MLA style. Or, use the "Citation Tools" option on the right side of the database screen, which also offers APA formatting.

Examples of Thomson Gale databases (click for full list):

Gale citation


CSA databases
allow you to mark records and then save or e-mail them to yourself using the citation style of your choice.

Examples of CSA databases (click link for full list):


Many of the FirstSearch databases are also providing help with citations. When viewing a full record, click on the "how to cite" link to bring up formatted citations in all the major styles.

Examples of FirstSearch Databases (click link for full list):


Other databases provide the option to view, save, or export records in a selected citation style. Examples:

 

Further Help with Citations

Still have questions?  These websites provide extensive examples and help with documenting sources:

 

Hekman Library

Profile ImageResearch Librarians


Contact Info:
Research Assistance Desk Hours:
Mon-Thurs 8:30 AM - 11 PM
Fri 8:30 AM - 5 PM
Sat 12:00-6 PM
(616) 396-6307

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait