This is the "Reference" page of the "English" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Admin Sign In 

English 

Suggested resources for researching English literature
Last update: Jan 22nd, 2010 URL: http://libguides.calvin.edu/english  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference             Print Page
  
 

OED Word of the Day


Loading RSS Feed...
 

Reference Universe

Looking for specific reference entries on a subject?  Reference Universe indexes the contents of our print and electronic reference titles at Hekman Library.

Search Reference Universe:

(type any word/phrase, then press enter)

 
 

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED)

American Heritage Dictionary

Webster's Third New International Dictionary

 

 

 

Literary Criticism

Gale's Literary Index - Online index to more than 130 literary criticism and literary biography reference sets, many of which Hekman Library owns in print

John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism

Dictionary of Literary Biography - Series including over 300 volumes, with each volume focusing on a particular time period, author, or literary movement

 

 

Subject Encyclopedias

We have many encyclopedias for literary research, ranging from surveys like The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature to very specific encyclopedias, such as A Jane Austen Encyclopedia.  Some of these encyclopedias are even online!  To find encyclopedias on other literary subjects, try a library catalog search using your terms and "encyclopedia."

 

 


 

Instruction Librarian

Profile ImageSarah McClure Kolk
Contact Info:
Hekman Library Rm. 201
(616) 526-6014

Research Assistance Desk Hrs, Spring 2010: Mon 10-11:30 am, Wed 3-5 pm, Thurs 1:30-3 pm
Send Email

Subjects:
English, Education, Gender Studies

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait