About PRDL
The Post-Reformation Digital Library . . .
is a collection of resources relating to the development of theology during the Post-Reformation/early modern era (ca. 16th-18th c.), hosted by the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies of Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary.
The Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select bibliography focusing on primary source documents on early modern theology and philosophy, spanning publicly-accessible collections from major research libraries, independent scholarly initiatives, and corporate documentation projects.
The core of the PRDL project involves the organization of thousands of documents available in digital form from sources including Google Books and the Internet Archive. Also included are the offerings of select digital libraries from Europe and North America, which are beginning to make digitized forms of their holdings available to the public. The project covers the work of hundreds of authors from a wide variety of theological, philosophical, and ecclesiastical traditions.
All users are encouraged to contribute to this project by reporting new books or suggesting new authors to be covered with a note under "Comments" at the bottom of the relevant page. Please also copy and paste any broken links in the relevant comments page so that the editorial board can investigate. (Nota bene: this site is limited insofar as it aims at only those works of the authors that have been digitized. In the vast majority of cases this will not be representative of the author's work as a whole and is no substitute for due bibliographic research.)
Editorial Board:
- David Sytsma
Ph.D. candidate
Princeton Theological Seminary (moderator) - Todd Rester
Ph.D. student
Calvin Theological Seminary - Jordan Ballor
Dr. theol. candidate
University of Zurich - Albert Gootjes
Ph.D. candidate
Calvin Theological Seminary - Richard Muller
P. J. Zondervan Professor of Historical Theology
Calvin Theological Seminary - Lugene Schemper (ex officio)
Theological Librarian
Calvin College and Calvin Theological Seminary
Index to PRDL
Nescire autem quid ante quam natus sis acciderit, id est semper esse puerum. Quid enim est aetas hominis, nisi ea memoria rerum veterum cum superiorum aetate contexitur? - Cicero, Orator 120
|
Early Modern Theology
|
Early Modern Philosophy Other Resources |
Notable Recent Findings
- Jacques Saurin, many works and collected sermons (in multiple editions) now available.
- Élie Saurin, Réflexions sur les droits de la conscience... (Utrecht: Antoine Schouten, 1697) PDF
- Élie Saurin, Traité de l'amour de Dieu (Amsterdam: François Halma, 1700-1701)
- Élie Saurin, Traité de l'amour du prochain (Amsterdam: Henri Schelte, 1704) PDF
- Jacobus Leydekker, Dr. Bekkers philosophise duyvel, en op nieuw Betooverde wereld wederleyd en ontooverd : met een Voor-af-spraak van het gebruyk en misbruyk der philosophie (Dordrecht: Dirck Goris, 1692) PDF
- Bernard Niewentyt, Gronden van zekerheid, of de regte betoogwyse der wiskundigen so in het denkbeeldige, als in het zakelyke: ter wederlegging van Spinosaas denkbeeldig samenstel; en ter aanleiding van eene sekere sakelyke wysbegeerte (Amsterdam: Johannes Pauli, 1720) PDF
- Franciscus Junius, Lucas Trelcatius Jr. and Franciscus Gomarus, together with Jeremias Bastingius and Johannes Wtenbogaert, Oordeel ende Censure Der Hooch geleerder ende wijt-vermaerder Mannen Francisici Iunij, Luce Trelcatij ende Francisci Gomari, professoren der h. Theologie ende universitey tot Leyden midtsgaders D. Ieremie Bastingij ende Iohannis Wtenbogaerts over de dolinghen van Cornelis VViggersae eertijds dienaer des godlicken woorts in de ghereformeerde kercke Christi tot Hoorn (Arnhem: Jan Janssen, 1617) PDF
- Jacobus Koelman, Historisch verhael van de Proceduuren tegen D. Jacobus
Koelman, Predicant tot Sluys in Vlaenderen. Wegens zijn debvoiren tot
Reformatie ontrent het stuck der Formulieren en Feestdagen (Rotterdam: Pieter Hendricksz, 1677) PDF
- NB: title page lists "Theophilus Parresius" as the author; this is a pseudonym for Koelman himself.
- [Johannes Uytenbogaert], Proiect
't samen gevoeght uyt de advisen vande leden, volgens de resolutie van
hare ed. groot mog. 19 Ianuarii 1630. Met sommighe bedenckinghen over
't selve proiect (n.p., 1630) PDF
- NB: published anonymously.
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Cygnea Cantio Of Leste sang (n.p., 1633) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Den eenigen ende rechten Waerom vande uytvoeringhe der Remonstrantsche Leeraars (n.p., 1619) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Eenige Brieven Geschreven Aen Heeren van qualiteyt in 's Graven-Haghe: tot wederleggingge van sekere grove talomnien tot nadeel der remonstranten wtghestroyt, soo 't geruchte gaet, by eenighe professoren der theologie tot Leyden (n.p., 1630) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Naerder-Bericht Ende Openinge Vande Proceduren By den Kercken-Dienaren (Den Haag: Hillebrandt Jacobsz, 1612) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Replyck Der Remonstranten Opde antwoordt der Leydsche Professoren (n.p., 1631) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Requeste Der Remonstrantsche Leeraren (n.p., 1630) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Send-Brief Der Remonstrantscher Leeraren aende E. Synode tot Schiedam in Iulio 1631 (n.p., 1631) PDF
- Johannes Uytenbogaert, Verdedigingh vande Resolutie Der Mog. Heeren Staten van Holland (Den Haag: Hillebrandt Jacobsz, 1615)
- P. I. de L., Reghel der christelycke volmaeckheyt, ofte Maniere om daghelickx te wandelen in Godts teghenwoordigheydt, 17th ed. (Ghent: Jan Danckaert, 1693) PDF
- NB: listed under Reformed "Anonymous and Pseudonymous Books"
- Reitsema, J. and S. D. Van Veen, S.D. van, Acta der provinciale en particuliere synoden, gehouden in de noordelijke Nederlanden gedurende de jaren 1572-1620, 8 vols. (Groningen: J. B. Wolters, 1892-1899)
- Caspar Coolhaes, Sendtbrief Caspars Coolhaes, dienaer des Godlicken woorts, residerende tot Leyden. Aen de dienaren des Goddelicken woordts in Suyt ende Noort-Hollant... (n.p., 1582) PDF
- Johannes Swartte, Oude en recht-zinnige waarheyd in 't stuk der bedeelingen der tyden en vergevinge der sonden. Verduysterd en bedeckt met de naame van schaadelyke nieuwigheden, echter naakt ondekt en tegens alle ongegronde tegenspraake vertoond (Rotterdam: Adriaen van Dyck, 1699) PDF
- Johannes Verschuir, Historisch tafereel behelsende een beknopt verhaal en nette tyd-reekeninge (Groningen: Jurjen Spandaw, 1732) PDF
- Eusebium Philarchontium [= Voetius?], Vruchte-losen Biddach, Of Vrymoedich ende ootmoedich versoek aan de christelijke overheden der vereenichde Nederlanden (n.p., 1655) PDF
- Moïse Amyraut, Considérations sur les droits par lesquels la nature a reiglé les mariages (Saumur: Isaac Desbordes, 1648) PDF
- Caspar Sibelius, Opera theologica. Seu loci communes theologici practici, 4 vols. in 3 (Amsterdam: H. Laurentius, 1644)
- William Ames, Philosophemata (Amsterdam: Joannes Janssonius, 1651) PDF
- Jean Daille, Apologie des églises réformées (Charenton: Louis Vandosme, 1669) PDF
See also the newly-linked Theological Portal Library website (see under "Offsite Google Books Lists" on the Links and Resources page) which contains links to over 700 Dutch-language theological works available online.
Recent PRDL News
- Online archive opens the Reformers' works at US seminary (1/26/10)
- Calvin grad students, professors create Post-Reformation Digital Library Web site (01/16/10)
- Calvin students, professors create digital library (1/4/10)
- Calvin College creates digital library of writings by John Calvin, Martin Luther and others (1/2/10)
- New digital library puts research within reach (12/11/09)
- Meeter Center launches new digital library (12/4/09)
- Webbibliotheek met theologisch werk gelanceerd (11/20/09)
- New Web-based Resource for Reformation and Post-Reformation Studies (11/18/09)
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait