Quick Links


- GPO Monthly Catalog
A subscription database that indexes government publications from 1976 to the present. - GPO Access
A free database from the Government Printing Office that includes the online database Catalog of U.S. Government Publications. - FDsys
GPO's Federal Digital System (FDsys) is an advanced digital system that will enable GPO to manage Government information from all three branches of the U.S. Government. - USA.gov
The U.S. Government's official web portal. - Google Uncle Sam
Google's search engine for government web pages for US federal, state and local information.
Hekman Library Governnment Documents Home Page
The link below will take you to Government Documents pages as linked from the Hekman Library's Special Collections page:
Welcome!
The Hekman Library has been a depository for United States federal documents since 1967, and for Michigan state documents since 2003.
The library collects documents of may types and in many formats: paper, online, maps, CD-Rom, DVD-Rom, and microfiche. WebCat, the library's online catalog, contains records for documents in both tangible and intangible formats.
In addition the library provides access to both subscription and free databases that index government documents.
How Government Documents are Shelved
The tangible government documents collection is shelved according to the Superintendent of Documents classification schedule. At first glance the call numbers are pretty intuition because most call numbers begin with a letter (or letters) letters that represent the department or agency issuing the document:
A for Agriculture
C for Commerce
E for Energy
ED for Education
L for Labor
LC for Library of Congress
NAS for NASA
S for State
T for Treasury
A few that are less intuitive are
AE for laws, regulations
X and Y -Congress
The rest of the call number is a series of numbers and punctuation that represent further subdivions of the agency, the type of publication, the year of publication, etc. Please ask for assistance if you are trying to find a document on the shelf and cannot locate it.
The tangible Michigan documents are shelved according to the Library of Congress classification system as are the books in the library's main collection.
Subject Guide |
Diane Vander Pol, Government Documents Librarian211 Hekman Library
616-526-7072
Send Email
Subjects:
Government Documents, Geology, Geography, Environmental Studies, Political Science, Social Work, Sociology
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait