This is the "Home" page of the "Philippians: Campus Bible Study Library Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Philippians: Campus Bible Study Library Resources  

Resources for the all-campus Bible study of Philippians, Calvin College, Fall 2010
Last Updated: Sep 2, 2010 URL: http://libguides.calvin.edu/philippians Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Campus Bible Study - Philippians

For complete information, and to join a group or lead a group in this all campus Bible study, go to www.calvin.edu/faith/philippians

For Hekman Library Assistance, contact
Lugene Schemper, Theological Librarian
lschempeATcalvin.edu
616 526-6121
HL 423

 

Leading a Bible Study

The Ministry Resource Center of Hekman Library has a variety of additional helps for those leading small group Bible studies. Here are a few suggestions:

 

Transforming Bible Study: A Leader's Guide by Walter Wink. Located in the general collection on the 4th floor.
BS 600.2 .W573

How to Read the Bible for All It's Worth, 2d ed., by Gordon D. Fee and Douglas Stewart. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor. There is also a copy on reserve.
BS600.2 .F43 1993
For reading Philippians, see chapter 3, "The Epistles: Learning to Think Contextually," pp. 45-60.

Facilitating for Growth:A Guide for Scripture Study Groups and Small Christian Communities, by Barbara J. Fleischer. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .F54 1993


So You've Been Asked to Lead a Small Group, by Willy Nywening.
Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .N99 1998

Making Small Groups Work:What Every Small Group Leader Needs to Know, by Henry Cloud and John Townsend. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .C57 2003

The Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry: A Troubleshooting Guide, by Bill Donahue and Russ Robinson. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .D657 2002

Seven Myths about Small Groups: How to Keep from Falling into Common Traps, by Dan Williams. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .W524 2000

How to Ask Great Questions, by Karen Lee-Thorp. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .L44 1998

 

And, of course, there are also great resources on the web.
Here's Guide for Small Group Leaders from InterVarsity's Urbana O9, with helpful ideas about leading Bible studies.

 

Sermon/Bible Study Materials on Philippians

Here are some additional Bible study guides and sermon series that might be helpful.

A Life Worth Living, by  Nicky Gumbel.
BV3790 .G97 1996   MRC
Bible study on Philippians designed to be a followup to the Alpha Course. There is also a 3-disc video DVD of talks by Nicky Gumbel on Philippians -  BV3790 .G972 1999

Philippians: Why Do Some of the Best Letters Come from Prison? by Rob Bell
Available soon in the MRC
A 30-week sermons series based on Philippians from Mars Hill  in Grandville, MI. Includes a binder with study sheets based on the series.


 

The King James YouTube Bible Project: Philippians

In preparation for the 400th anniversary of the publication of the King James Bible, the King James Bible Trust is compiling a "You Tube Bible." You are invited to submit a video recording of your reading of a passage from the King James Bible. There are still plenty of Philippians passages available. 

Here's a  reading of Philippians 4:4-9:

 

Basic Study Materials

Basic Study Materials are available for all participants at the Campus Bookstore. There will also be several copies on reserve at Hekman Library:

Paul for Everyone: The Prison Letters - Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, Philemon


by N. T. Wright  (Westminster John Knox, 2004).

 

 

 

 Dwelling with Philippians: A Conversation with Scripture through Image and Word


ed. Betsy Steele Halstead et al. (Eerdmans, forthcoming)

  
Vie w an excerpt (.pdf)  

 

Commentaries on Philippians

Here are some recommended commentaries, for those interested in further study of Philippians:

To see all Philippians commentaries held by Hekman Library (with most recent publications first), click here.

Cover Art
The Epistle to the Philippians - Markus Bockmuehl
Call Number: BS2705.3 .B615 1998
ISBN: 1565633504
Bockmuehl, Markus. The Epistle to the Philippians. Black's New Testament Commentaries. Peabody, Mass.:Hendrickson, 1998. 1 copy available on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
Paul's Letter to the Philippians - Gordon D. Fee
Call Number: BS2705.3 .G67 1995
ISBN: 0802825117
Fee, Gordon. Paul's Letter to the Philippians. The New International Commentary on the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans, 1995. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor, 1 copy available in the Theological Reference collection, and 2 copies available in the Ministry Resource Center.

Cover Art
Philippians - Gerald F. Hawthorne
Call Number: BS491.2 .W67 VOL. 43 2004
ISBN: 0785250085
Hawthorne, Gerald F. Philippians. World Biblical Commentary. Nashville: Nelson Reference & Electronic, 2004. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor, 1 copy available in the Theological Reference collection, and 2 copies available in the Ministry Resource Center.

Cover Art
The New Interpreter's Bible
Call Number: BS491.2 .N484 1994 V.1
ISBN: 0687278147
Hooker, Morna. "The Letter to the Philippians: Introduction, Commentary, and Reflections." Pages 467-549 in The New Interpreter's Bible, vol 11: Second Corinthians - Philemon. Nashville: Abingdon, 2000. Copies are available in the Theological Reference collection, the Ministry Resource Center, and the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The epistle to the Philippians: a commentary on the Greek text - Peter T. O'Brien
Call Number: BS2705.3 .O27 1991
ISBN: 0802823920
O'Brien, Peter Thomas. The Epistle to the Philippians: A Commentary on the Greek Text, The New International Greek Testament Commentary. Grand Rapids: Eerdmans. 1991. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor, and 2 available in the Ministry Resource Center.

Cover Art
Philippians: a new translation - John Reumann
Call Number: BS491.2 .A53 V.33B 2008
ISBN: 9780300140453
Reumann, John. Philippians: A New Translation with Introduction and Commentary. The Anchor Bible. New Haven, Conn.: London: Yale University Press, 2008. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor and 1 copy available in the Theological Reference collection.

Cover Art
Philippians - Mois├ęs Silva
Call Number: BS2705.3 .S5 2005
ISBN: 0801026814
Silva, Moises. Philippians. Baker Exegetical Commentary on the New Testament. Grand Rapids: Baker Academic, 2002. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor, and 2 available in the Ministry Resource Center.

Cover Art
Philippians - Frank Thielman
Call Number: BS2705.3 .T47 1995
ISBN: 0310493005
Thielman, Frank. Philippians. The NIV Application Commentary. Grand Rapids: Zondervan Publishing, 1996. 1 copy availabe in the general collection on the 4th floor and 2 available in the Ministry Resource Center.

 

Additional Works on Philippians

For a treatment of Philippians from an African perspective, see the Africa Bible Commentary (Word Alive Publishers/Zondervan, 2006) BS491.3 .A47 2006. The section on Philippians (pp. 1439-1448) is written by Eshetu Abate.

John Chrysostom, Homilies on Philippians, available from the Christian Classics Ethereal Library.

Ancient Christian Commentary on Scripture 7: Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians.  Mark J. Edwards, ed. InterVarsity Press, 1999.
BS2685.3 .G355 1999
A compilation gleaned from commentary by Fathers of the Church.

John Calvin. Commentaries on the Epistles of Paul the Apostle to the Philippians, Colossians, and Thessalonians. Trans. by T. H. L. Parker.
BS491 .C26 vol.11

 

1584 EEBO Edition (Online)

A commentarie of M. Iohn Caluine vppon the Epistle to the Philippians: wherein is set out the necessitie and profite of affliction vnto the faithfull, the benefite of God his word, the fruits, of vnitie and humilitie, free iustification by faith in Iesus Christ without our owne merites, the assurance, ioy, and contented mindes of the godlie, and their perseueraunce in godlinesse vnto the end. With many other comfortable and profitable pointes of religion. Translated out of Latine by W.B.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip