Religion and Theology Research Guide
USE ONE OF THE ABOVE TABS TO BEGIN RESEARCH IN YOUR PARTICULAR AREA OF INTEREST
Please, inform us of any broken links.
Resources for Distance Learning at Calvin Theological Seminary
For CTS Distance Learning users, be sure to check out the Hekman Library Distance Learning Guide.
Quick Links to Library Resources
- Hekman Library Home PageThis site contains links to all library services and resources
- Library Catalog - General SearchSearch the online catalog for all (print and electronic) books, journal titles, microfilm, dvds, and other media.
- Library Catalog - Search for EbooksTo limit your search to ebooks, click the link "Choose a collection to search." Open the file folder "General Collection," and select "E-Books." Hint: for best results, sort your search results by "Newest to Oldest," using the "Sort Results" dropdown in the upper right hand corner of your results screen.
- Electronic Journal LocatorHekman Library has access to 25,000+ ejournals. All are indexed in the general catalog, but this tool can be helpful for quick access if you'd like to browse a current issue of a journal, or if you have a precise reference to an article in a back issue of a journal.
- My Library Account (Renewals)Use to renew materials and check your account status.
- Library Login Instructions for Seminary UsersInstructions for logging into the catalog or research databases are at the bottom of this page.
- Religion and Theology Library Guide
- Databases for Religion and TheologyA selection of databases specific to the study of religion and theology.
- Inter-Library Loan Services (ILL)If Hekman Library doesn't own a copy of an article you need, we will get it from another library and we can send it to you. Print books are available via ILL, but cannot be sent via mail; you'll have to pick up and return to the physical library.
Core Research Database for Religion and Theology
For a comprehensive list, see the above tab "Databases for Religion and Theology."
Loading...
Citation Styles at CTS
Calvin Theological Seminary papers and theses are normally written using the citation styles in Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 7th ed.(Chicago, 2007) It presents two basic documentation systems:
- Notes-bibliography style (or simply bibliography style)
- Parenthetical citations–reference list style (or reference list style)
These styles are essentially the same as those presented in The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed. (Chicago, 2010), with slight modifications for the needs of student writers. The library has an online subscription to the current (and regularly updated) 16th ed., which you can access through the link in the library catalog: Chicago Manual of Style online .
Papers written for biblical studies courses should follow the SBL Handbook of Style for Ancient Near Eastern, Biblical, and Early Christian Studies, ed. Patrick Alexander, et al. (Hendrickson, 1999). This generally follows Turabian/Chicago, with some significan modifications. If you don't have access to the complete print guide, there is a helpful Student Supplement to the SBL Handbook of Style (pdf) , ed. Joel M. Lemon,which is available for free.
Citation Tools
- Chicago Manual of Style OnlineOnline edition of the most up-to-date version of the Chicago Manual of Style,linked through the Hekman LIbrary catalog (You'll need your CTS username and password)
- Turabian Citation GuideA brief overview of Turabian, with helpful examples of the most common types of materials cited
- SBL Citation BuilderMaintained by Pitts Theology Library, Emory Universtity
- Student Supplement to SBL Handbook of StyleA 21 page digital supplement (pdf file) to the SBL Handbook
- KnightciteCalvin's own citation builder, maintained by Hekman Library
- ZoteroZotero is a free bibliographic utility which you can use to collect, organize, cite, and share your research resources. Highly recommended as you begin your seminary career.
Theological Librarian |
Theological Librarian; Curator of the Meeter Center |
Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
