This is the "Home" page of the "Sermon on the Mount: Campus Bible Study Library Resources, Fall 2012" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sermon on the Mount: Campus Bible Study Library Resources, Fall 2012  

Last Updated: Sep 5, 2012 URL: http://libguides.calvin.edu/sermon-on-the-mount Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Campus Bible Study, Fall 2012 - The Sermon on the Mount

For complete information, and to join a group or lead a group in this all-campus Bible study, go to http://www.calvin.edu/faith/bible-study/sermon-on-the-mount/

For Hekman Library Assistance, contact
Lugene Schemper, Theological Librarian
lschempe[at]calvin.edu
616 526-6121
HL 423

 

Leading a Bible Study

The Ministry Resource Center of Hekman Library has a variety of additional helps for those leading small group Bible studies. Here are a few suggestions:

 

Transforming Bible Study: A Leader's Guide by Walter Wink. Located in the general collection on the 4th floor.
BS 600.2 .W573

How to Read the Bible for All It's Worth, 2d ed., by Gordon D. Fee and Douglas Stewart. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor. There is also a copy on reserve.
BS600.2 .F43 1993
For reading Philippians, see chapter 3, "The Epistles: Learning to Think Contextually," pp. 45-60.

Facilitating for Growth:A Guide for Scripture Study Groups and Small Christian Communities, by Barbara J. Fleischer. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .F54 1993


So You've Been Asked to Lead a Small Group, by Willy Nywening.
Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .N99 1998

Making Small Groups Work:What Every Small Group Leader Needs to Know, by Henry Cloud and John Townsend. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .C57 2003

The Seven Deadly Sins of Small Group Ministry: A Troubleshooting Guide, by Bill Donahue and Russ Robinson. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .D657 2002

Seven Myths about Small Groups: How to Keep from Falling into Common Traps, by Dan Williams. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .W524 2000

How to Ask Great Questions, by Karen Lee-Thorp. Located in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.
BV652.2 .L44 1998

 

Sermon on the Mount Study Materials

Valuable resources for learning more about or leading a bible study on the Sermon on the Mount.

Cover Art
Sermon on the Mount: seeking first the kingdom of God - John Stott
Call Number: BT380.2 .S862 1987
ISBN: 0830810366
Publication Date: 1987-07-01
13 studies for individuals or groups. Published by InterVarsity Press in Downers Grove, IL. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Sermon on the Mount: a foundation for understanding - Robert A. Guelich
Call Number: BT380.2 .G83 1982
ISBN: 0849901103
Publication Date: 1982-03-01
Published by Word Books in Waco, TX. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Divine Conspiracy - Dallas Willard; Kevin Harney (Contributor); Sherry Harney (Contributor)
ISBN: 0310324394
Publication Date: 2010-03-11
Published by Zondervan Publishing House in Grand Rapids, MI. Copies are yet to be available.

 

Commentaries on the Sermon on the Mount throughout Church History


Cover Art
The Sermon on the Mount Through the Centuries - Jeffrey P. Greenman (Editor); Timothy Larsen (Editor); Stephen R. Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: BT380.3 .R43 2007
ISBN: 9781587432057
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Published by Brazos Press, Grand Rapids, MI. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.
Basic abstract: Compiles and describes the perspectives of the Fathers like Chrysostom and Augustine, the reformers like Luther and Calvin, the missionaries like John Wesley and Spurgeon and contemporary views like Bonhoefer, John Howard Yoder, and John Paul II.

Cover Art
Commentary on the Lord's Sermon on the Mount, with seventeen related sermons - Saint Augustine; Denis J. Kavanagh (Translator)
Call Number: BR60 .F3 v.11
Publication Date: 1963, (c)1951
Published by Catholic University of America Press in Washington, DC. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Cost of Discipleship - Dietrich Bonhoeffer; R. H. Fuller (Translator); Irmgard Booth (Revisor)
Call Number: BT275 .B61 1959
Publication Date: 1959
Published by Macmillan Publishing in New York, NY. 3 copies available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
Luther's Works v. 21: The Sermon on the Mount (sermons) and The Magnificat - Martin Luther
Call Number: BR330.E5 1955 V.21
Publication Date: 1955-1986
Published by Concordia Publishing House in Saint Louis, MO. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Preaching of Chrysostom; Homilies on the Sermon on the Mount - John Chrysostom; Jaroslav Pelikan (Editor)
Call Number: BR65.C45 H63
Publication Date: 1967
Introduction by Jaroslav Pelikan. Published by Fortress Press in Philadelphia, PA. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

 

Basic Study Materials

Basic Study Materials are available for all participants at the Campus Bookstore. There will also be several copies on reserve at Hekman Library:



The Divine Conspiracy: Rediscovering Our Hidden Life in God


by Dallas Willard (HarperOne, 1998)

 

 

 


 

Commentaries on the Sermon on the Mount

To see all English-language Sermon on the Mount commentaries held by Hekman Library (with most recent publications first), click here.

Here are some recommended commentaries, for those interested in further study of the Sermon on the Mount:

Cover Art
Christian Counter Culture - John Stott
Call Number: BT380.2 .S86 1978
ISBN: 087784660X
Publication Date: 1985-09-01
Published by InterVarsity Press in Downers Grove, IL. 2 copies available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Sermon on the Mount: an evangelical exposition of Matthew 5-7 - D. A. Carson
Call Number: BT380.2 .C33
ISBN: 0801024234
Publication Date: 1978-01-01
Published by Baker Book House in Grand Rapids, MI. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Sermon on the Mount: an exegetical commentary - Georg Strecker; O. C. Dean (Translator)
Call Number: BT380.2 .S8713 1988
ISBN: 0687375606
Publication Date: 1988-04-01
Published by Abingdon Press in Nashville, TN. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
The Sermon on the Mount: a commentary on the Sermon on the mount, including the Sermon on the plain - Hans D. Betz; Adela Y. Collins (Editor)
Call Number: BT380.2 .B484 1995
ISBN: 0800660315
Publication Date: 1995-06-29
Published by Fortress Press in Minneapolis, MN. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
Happiness Unlimited - Clare G. Weakley (Editor); John Wesley
Call Number: BS2575.2 .W39
ISBN: 0882703684
Publication Date: 1979-06-01
Published by Logos International in Plainfield, NJ. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

 

Annotated Sermon on the Mount Bibliography

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Sermon on the Mount


For a good annotated bibliography of Sermon on the Mount studies, see the Sermon on the Mount section of Oxford Bibligraphies Online - Biblical Studies. 

To find items at Hekman Library in this Bibliography, use the "WorldCat" link for books and essays in books; use the "Full-Text@Hekman" link for journal articles.

Cover Art
The Sermon on the Mount: a history of interpretation and bibliography - Warren S. Kissinger
Call Number: BT380.2 .K5 1975
ISBN: 0810808439
Publication Date: 1975-12-01
Published by Scarecrow Press in Metuchen, NJ. 1 copy available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

 

Sermon Resources for the Sermon on the Mount

Cover Art
Preaching the Sermon on the Mount - Stanley M. Hauerwas (Contributor); Warren Carter (Contributor)
Call Number: BT380.3 .P75 2007
ISBN: 9780827230040
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
Published by Chalice Press in Saint Louis, MO. 1 copy in the Ministry Resource Center on the 4th floor.

Cover Art
Studies in the Sermon on the Mount - David Martyn Lloyd-Jones
Call Number: BT380 .L56 V.1, BT380 .L56 V.2
Publication Date: 1959-60
Published by William B. Eerdmans Publishing Company in Grand Rapids, MI. 1 copy of each volume available in the general collection on the 4th floor.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip