Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 101C & E (Admiraal) - Spring 2021: Home

Your Class Librarian

Sarah McClure Kolk's picture
Sarah McClure Kolk
Contact:
To make an appointment, e-mail me or click on the bookmark below
Website

Get Help

Accessing Articles: Looking for Full-Text of an Article?

In our databases, you will often across this icon:  Text "Full-Text @ Hekman" in auburn letters boxed in auburn next to the Hekman logo.

For access to the full-text of an article (either in print or online), look for and click on that icon. This will open another window indicating where and how we may have access through Hekman Library, either online or in print.  (Note that we may not have access--that link will only check to see if or how we may have it.)

For a different explanation, watch this "Accessing Articles" video tutorial below:

Welcome to Your ENGL 101 Research Guide

Welcome to your online library guide for doing research in ENGL 101! 

This page provides an overview of doing research for your assignments in this class.  If you need help, be sure to reach out to me (bonus: you can get extra credit if you make an appointment).

Also, if you could use even more tips on researching, check out our YouTube channel

Using Search Start

Screenshot of Hekman Library website home page.The Search Start tool on the library's website works by running your search in the library catalog, MeLCat (a shared catalog of libraries across Michigan), and some of our research databases grouped by vendor (EBSCO, ProQuest, and JSTOR). 

It can be a good place to search broadly for a topic, and determine what type of research on the topic is available in the library's collection (books and articles).
 

Search the Library Catalog: Books

Search the Hekman Library Catalog to find books and other items held by the library.

Search the Research Databases: Articles

Use the library's research databases to find periodical articles (for example, from scholarly journals or popular magazines). 

Not sure which databases to try? 

  • See Prof. Admiraal's recommended databases (on your assignment handouts)
  • Use the library's Databases by Subject recommendations (on our website)
  • Ask me (Sarah) or another librarian for suggestions!

Using Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be another option for searching for articles, but be sure to try the library's research databases first.

If you do decide to search Google Scholar, see this video for linking it to Hekman LIbrary:

Review of Research Tips

Some suggestions:

  • Explore your topic fully by using multiple search tools
  • Experiment with search terms and keywords (watch for terms that may come up in your results).
  • Give yourself time to refine your search strategies, to sift through results to find good citations, to locate and access the sources, and to read those sources.
  • Be persistent and don't give up too easily, but also don't flounder unnecessarily!  Ask Prof. Admiraal or me for help.