Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contact your Research Librarian
Getting Started with Research for SPAN300!
Special Resource: Country Information
BBC Country Profiles
From the BBC, "full profiles... to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions." Also, some audio and video from the BBC archives
CIA World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities.
Recommended Research Databases
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
An interdisciplinary database covering a wide variety of subjects, primarily from academic and scholarly journals.
Well-known database covering many topics, mainly in the arts and humanities - only includes full-text articles from peer-reviewed journals
Full text peer-reviewed journal articles as well as ebooks. Many useful resources for topics related to Hispanic concerns.
Provides access to the latest research in sociology, social work, and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes Social Services Abstracts.
Major database for psychology and the social sciences, with international coverage including 1,800 professional journals, chapters, books, reports, theses and dissertations.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Core database for research in communication and rhetoric, also covers public relations, advertising, linguistics, language acquisition.
Indexes over 2,000 journals that cover world history. HA is ideal for historical coverage of scientific topics.