ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is an authoritative database of indexed and full-text education literature and resources. Sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education, it is essential tool for education researchers of all kinds.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. ERIC provides coverage of journal articles, conferences, government documents, reports, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
Each ERIC record is assigned a unique accession number in the collection. These are also known as the ERIC Document Number (ED Number) and ERIC Journal Number (EJ Number).
EJ Numbers – Refer to articles published in education journals
ED Numbers – Refer to education documents such as teaching guides, research reports, bibliographies, issue papers, instructional materials, and test and evaluation instruments.
ED Numbers are classified as levels 1-3.
·Level 1 - Reproducible in paper and microfiche and since 1993 in electronic format; materials issued from January 1993 - July 2004 are available at no cost through http://www.eric.ed.gov
·Level 2 - Reproducible in microfiche; full-text is no longer available through ERIC, but records remain part of the database. Available through Hekman Library.
·Level 3 - Not reproducible; records remain part of the database
Note: we do have a collection of ERIC documents (ED) in microfiche at Hekman Library from 1966-2004 (ED010000-ED483046). The cabinets containing the ERIC fiche and the equipment to read them (and make copies or scans) are on the 2nd floor of the library, facing the Cayvan area. (Make sure you note the ED# from your ERIC search as the fiche are organized by that number.)