Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Silk Road / History of the West & the World to 1500 C.E. (HIST151)

HIST 151 is a survey of early world history, from the late Paleolithic era down to the beginnings of European overseas expansion, about 1500 CE. The course highlights the development of agrarian societies, the evolution of the world’s major religious and

Talk to an Expert

Come talk to your research librarian (profile on homepage) or a student Library Research Consultant at the Reference Desk to walk through any questions you have! You have plenty of options to get help in person or online:

What Does This Mean?

Library resources and the research process sometimes involves some unfamiliar terminology. Here are a few common terms and some brief definitions to refresh your understanding:

  Reference sources - compile lots of information to give a general overview of a topic (examples: encyclopedias, dictionaries, statistics, etc.)

  Encyclopedias - have many short articles to explain all the important terms, people, events, places, techniques, and issues of a specific subject

  Call number - unique letter/number code found on the spine of every item and in the its catalog record, to help locate everything on the shelf

  Subject heading - library version of tags, labeling a book/article by its subjects, giving you another way to search in the catalog and databases

  Peer-reviewed - specifically judged and reviewed by experts in the field to verify that the information is legitimate

  Research databases - search online collections academic journals for articles focused on specific subjects (example: CINAHL)

  Research guides - what you're using now! lists recommended resources and tips for doing research in a particular subject or class

  Full text - complete article, not just a summary or citation, to view online or download (FullText@Hekman tells you if we have access)

  Citation - shorthand to record important information about where information is found, formatted according to different citation styles

  References - list of citations, all the sources used in a study or presentation, found at the end (sometimes called "works cited" or "bibliography")

  Catalog - database showing everything in the library's collection (print books, DVDs, journals, links to other databases and ebooks, etc.)

  Research librarian - (also called "liaison librarian") librarian assigned to a particular department or subject to help students do research