Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Black Death / History of the West & the World to 1500 C.E. (HIST151)

The second-known plague/pandemic, the Black Death was the deadliest pandemic known in human history. Also known as (also known as the "Pestilence, the Great Mortality, or the Plague," Black Death killed anywhere from 75 to 200 million people across the kn

Useful Starting Points - Encyclopedias

Useful Starting Points - Articles and Databases

Useful Starting Points - Books

Important Library Resources - Quick Links

Use Search Start to search the library catalog and major databases at the same time
Library Catalog - find books at Hekman, including online
Find Research Databases - search for a specific database or browse by subject
Electronic journal locator - quick access to Hekman's online journals

Reference Sources at Hekman

We have many academic, college-level encyclopedias in our Print Reference collection on the 2nd floor of the library.  To find relevant titles on your topic in that collection, search the library catalog by keyword or subject, and limit the collection to Reference.  (Or add the term "encyclopedia" as a search term.) 

The library also has access to a number of online reference sources.  The major collections of these online resources are represented in the tabs above.

Logo - Text "GVRL Research Matters" in white and black lettering in an orange box with a black strip on the left containing "GALE" in white lettering.Through Gale E-Books, we have access to authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, handbooks, almanacs and other reference materials on a range of topics, from religion to business to history.

Search tip: Limit your search by Audience to "Academic." 

Logo - Text "Oxford Reference" and other in white lettering in dark teal box to the right of a multicolored tree graph on an orange floor and against a light blue background.We have access to over 50 titles through the Oxford Online Reference platform.  Topics focus mostly on the humanities.

Search tip: Limit your search by Availability to "unlocked" and "free."  This will return results only from reference titles we have access to.

                            Sage Knowledge includes encyclopedias and other reference works on social science topics. We have access to over 70 titles through this database.

Search tip: Limit your search to "Available to Me." This will give you access only to the titles our library has purchased.

Sample of Primary Sources