It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COMM 305 (Persuasion and Propaganda) - Fall 2021: Finding Articles
Independent Voices is an open access digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Looking for Full-Text?
For access to the full-text of an article (either in print or online), look for and click on the icon. This will open another window indicating where and how we may have access through Hekman Library.
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be another option for searching for articles, but be sure to try the library's research databases first.
If you do decide to search Google Scholar, see this video for linking it to Hekman LIbrary:
Youtube Video - How to Link Google Scholar to Hekman Library
In addition to using SearchStart on the library's main page, be sure to search Communication and Mass Media Complete for more focused research from communication and rhetoric scholars. Also search these relatedsubject-specific databases categorized below.
Provides access to the latest research in sociology, social work, and other social and behavioral sciences. Includes citations (and abstracts since 1974) from nearly 2,000 journals, serials, conference papers, books, and dissertations.
Subjects include community development, demography and human biology, family and social welfare, social psychology and group interactions, welfare services, and women's studies.
Note: When searching this database, you are also searching Social Services Abstracts and Sociology Research Database.