It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chemistry and Biochemistry
Librarian-curated research guide for Chemistry and Biochemistry resources
BIOSIS (1993-2018) is the premiere database for literature in the life sciences. BIOSIS covers medical topics, but coverage of clinical medicine is not as deep as PubMed or MEDLINE. Searching Web of Science will automatically search the contents of this database.
PubChem is an open chemistry database at the National Institutes of Health (NIH). “Open” means that you can put your scientific data in PubChem and that others may use it. It collects information on chemical structures, identifiers, chemical and physical properties, biological activities, patents, and many others.
The premiere database for all chemical research. If you do not have a user name and password, click on this link to register. (All Calvin users must register for a unique password! It's free and takes only a few minutes.
The National Institute of Standards and Technology Research Library is responsible for creating, maintaining, and disseminating a knowledge base which supports the research and administrative needs required to fulfill scientific, engineering, and technical innovation.
Web of Science Core Collection (1900-2018) is the world's most trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research. It is a curated collection of over 20,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.
Watch this 5-minute video on searching Web of Science to use it to its fullest potential.