Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Children's and Young Adult Literature

Librarian-curated guide for finding and using Children's and Young Adult Literature

Award Winners at Hekman

The library orders many of the American Library Association's (ALA) children's and young adult book award winners.  Search our catalog to find titles associated with the awards below.  See more past medal winners here.

The Caldecott Medal

undefinedThe Caldecott Medal was named in honor of nineteenth-century English illustrator Randolph Caldecott. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children. 

2021 Caldecott Medal Winner

2020 Caldecott Medal Winner

The Newbery Medal

Image result for newbery medalThe Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


2021 Newbery Medal Winner

2020 Newbery Medal Winner

The Printz Award

The Printz Award was named in honor of Michael L. Printz, a school librarian who was a long-time active member of the Young Adult Library Services Association. It is awarded annually to the best book written for teens, based entirely on its literary merit, each year.


2021 Printz Award Winner

2020 Printz Award Winner

ALA Young Adult Book Awards

The Alex Awards are given to ten books written for adults that have special appeal to young adults.

The Edwards Award honors an author, as well as a specific body of his or her work, for significant and lasting contribution to young adult literature.

Image result for morris awardThe Morris Award honors a book published by a first-time author writing for teens and celebrating new voices in young adult literature.



YALSA nonfiction awardThe YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction is given to the best nonfiction book published for young adults.