Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Disability Studies: A Student Success Guide

Librarian-curated guide to resources and information on disabilities topics, from Student Success

Disability Services at Calvin

Calvin provides assistance to students with visual impairments, learning disabilities, mobility impairments, hearing impairments, chronic health conditions (including allergies), psychological disabilities and temporary disabilities with a complete range of academic and non-academic opportunities. Resources and assistance for disability accommodations can be found through the Student Success office, including some of the quick links below. Questions and concerns may be directed to Disability coordinators, Lisa Kooy and Tim Mohnkern.

Disability Support in Hekman Library

Getting Around the Library
  • There are three accessible entrances to the library, two on the 2nd floor and one on the 3rd floor. The 2nd floor entrances are at ground-level and is the easiest to access. The main entrance (see Campus Map) is located at the east side of the building. See the campus map for parking locations.
  • Except for the stairwells and the restrooms on the 3rd and 4th floors, all areas of the Hekman Library are wheelchair accessible. An elevator near the center of the building provides access to all floors.
  • Any student assistant or library staff person will be happy to assist with retrieving books from higher shelves. Do not hesitate to ask for help, and please contact us if there is a physical barrier.  
  • There are bathrooms on every floor of the library, with handicap-accessible stalls on the 1st and 5th floors.
Making Use of Library Resources
  • Hekman Library provides some special equipment to serve patrons with disabilities, such as book magnifiers and headphones. Please ask at the Checkout desk on the main floor to borrow.
  • Many of our ebook collections and databases provide screen-reader compatible resources and provide screen magnification tools for patrons with visual disabilities. For example, click here to read more about making use of the accessibility options in the EBSCO EBook database.
  • Some of our ebook collections and databases offer Lexile (reading level) information on their resources and allow readers with intellectual or learning disabilities to search for resources by Lexile level. Click here to read more about Lexile level tools in the EBSCO databases.
  • Hekman Library provides thorough and personal research assistance both online and in-person, through our LiveChat instant message service, through walk-up service at the Research Assistance Desk on the library main floor, and by appointment with our research librarians. To request an appointment with a librarian, either in-person or through online video conferencing, please use this form; alternatively, select a librarian by their subject specialty and message them directly using their contact information listed here.

Other Disability Resources