It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide will provide reading suggestions for diversity months
February is Black History Month or African American History Month! Explore the resources on this page to learn and read more about black history, important figures, literature, and more!
*Check out the Library of Congress's dedicated site for African American History month which includes extensive lists of fascinating exhibits from the National Archives and other government institutions.*
Important Black Biographies
Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words by Susan Reyburn; Carla D. Hayden (Foreword by)"In this compelling new book from the Library of Congress, where the Parks Collection is housed, the civil rights icon is revealed for the first time in print through her private manuscripts and handwritten notes. Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words illumines her inner thoughts, her ongoing struggles, and how she came to be the person who stood up by sitting down. At the height of the Montgomery Bus Boycott, as Parks was both pilloried and celebrated, she found a catharsis in her writing. Her precise descriptions of her arrest, the segregated South, and her recollections of childhood resistance to white supremacy document a lifetime of battling inequality. Parks expressed her thoughts on paper using whatever was available--meeting agendas, event programs, drugstore bags. The book features one hundred color and black-and-white photographs from the Parks collection, many appearing in print for the first time, along with ephemera from the long life of a private person in the public eye."--Amazon.com.
Call Number: F334.M753 R48 2020
Publication Date: 2019-12-15
Click Here to see all African American biographies in Hekman Library, including the above and others added recently.
From the website Who2, a list of many historical and modern people celebrated during Black History Month. Click any name for more info or browse by profession (Activists, Actors, Astronauts, Athletes, etc.)
Unique graphic novel anthology with stories of unsung black heroes such as "Henry 'Box' Brown, who escaped from slavery by mailing himself to Philadelphia; Alexander Crummel and the Noyes Academy, the first integrated school in America, established in the 1830s; Marshall 'Major' Taylor, a.k.a. the Black Cyclone, the first Black champion in any sport; and Bass Reeves, the most successful lawman in the Old West"
"ne of the few surveys of Black style and fashion ever published, How to Slay offers a lavishly illustrated overview of African American style through the twentieth century, focusing on the last thirty-five years"
A tour of the Museum of Modern Arts focused on black artists and race-related subjects, the first substantial exploration of MoMA's uneven historical relationship with black artists, black audiences and the broader subject of racial blackness
"Michael Bennett is a Super Bowl Champion, a three-time Pro Bowl defensive end, a fearless activist, a feminist, a grassroots philanthropist, an organizer, and a change maker. He's also one of the most scathingly humorous athletes on the planet, and he wants to make you uncomfortable. Bennett adds his unmistakable voice to discussions of racism and police violence, Black athletes and their relationship to powerful institutions like the NCAA and the NFL, the role of protest in history, and the responsibilities of athletes as role models to speak out against injustice"
Consider the spiritual life and legacy of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr., "a deep, vital, engaging, balanced, and contagious spirituality" that translated into "a personal devotional life of prayer, meditation, and fasting... [as well as] a public ministry that involved the uplift and empowerment of humanity"
To understand the roots of our modern systematic racism, this book examines American history after the Civil War, which saw the struggle for black freedom hindered by the growth of discriminatory legislation and on-going racial violence
"As we enter a time period in which police interactions are recorded (dash cams or body cams, for example) and new populations are being targeted (black or Latinx people), there is much to learn about what is working and what is not"
"Anger is a powerful mobilizing force in American politics on both sides of the political aisle, but does it motivate all groups equally? This book offers a new conceptualization of anger as a political resource that mobilizes black and white Americans differentially to exacerbate political inequality"
Illustrated and annotated edition of the classic by WEB DuBois, Souls remains the most important treatment of African-American life and culture published in the twentieth century in this collection of sociological and philosophical essays
"Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. The uneasy balance between these worlds is shattered when Starr witnesses the fatal shooting of her childhood best friend Khalil at the hands of a police officer. Khalil was unarmed. Soon afterward, his death is a national headline"
James Baldwin, novelist, playwright, essayist, poet, and activist - this collection includes some of his most famous essays such as The Fire Next Time, reflecting on racial, sexual, social complexities of the twentieth century
First black winner for Best Original Screenplay, horror film in which "a young black man meets his white girlfriend's parents at their estate, only to find out that the situation is much more sinister than it appears"
Inspiring book turned movie about "the brilliant African-American women working at NASA who served as the brains behind the launch into orbit of astronaut John Glenn, a stunning achievement that turned around the Space Race"
A miniseries following several generations in the lives of a slave family; Kunta Kinte (LeVar Burton), a West African youth, is captured by slave raiders and shipped to America in the 1700s, and the family's saga is depicted up until the Civil War where Kunte Kinte's grandson gained emancipation.