It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian-curated research guide for Education resources.
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education. Their mission is to provide scientific evidence on which to ground education practice and policy and to share this information in formats that are useful and accessible to educators, parents, policymakers, researchers, and the public.
The Annual Reports and Information group within the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) produces several reports each year that draw from over 25 surveys by NCES and other government agencies. These wide-ranging data sources provide a comprehensive view of key issues facing the U.S. education system.
Special Collection: Curriculum Collection
The Curriculum Collection is a special collection in Hekman Library that includes materials specifically for classroom activities and lesson planning. With materials for all grade levels, you can find learning games, books, and even puppets! Check it out on the 2nd floor during normal library hours or search through it using the library catalog (just use the Limit options under the search box to change "In Hekman Library" to "Curriculum Collection").
This section of the ADPRIMA Web site provides classroom management ideas, contains information on lesson planning and how to write behavioral objectives, and offers descriptions of the advantages and disadvantages of different instructional methods. The descriptions are written especially for new teachers, beginning teachers, and teacher education students in an understandable style.
CanTeach was created to assist teachers in finding and using resources online. The site has resources that all educators will find useful. There is an emphasis on lesson plans, resources, and links which have a Canadian focus. The site offers many ideas for preventing disciplinary problems and for better organizing a classroom.
The Honor Level System refers users to a software discipline program that tracks students through progressive stages of disciplinary actions and notifies them of detention assignments. The Web site gives an introduction of the Honor Level System and has other online documents that can assist teachers, administrators, and parents in understanding discipline and in gathering more discipline strategies. Users can also find articles about better classroom discipline techniques.
Your classroom climate has a powerful effect on how well your students learn. Striking a balance between freedom and discipline is a skill that can make all the difference between a well-run classroom and classroom chaos. Here are some techniques educators are using to achieve such a balance. There is information available on seating charts, attendance, classroom layouts, prevention, inclusion, behavior control, and staying ahead.
BehaviorAdvisor.com offers positive strategies, free podcasts, videos, consulting, coaching, and interventions for promoting appropriate classroom behavior. The site provides online opportunities for teachers to help other teachers with student behavior issues. "The Web site also offers tips on managing student behavior, and provides step-by-step directions for implementing standard interventions for promoting appropriate, prosocial behavior."
The Web site is a resource that helps teachers, administrators, and parents handle discipline problems. The user may find an overview of behavioral management and its foundations, a discussion room, and solutions for handling over 117 specific misbehaviors. The solutions contain a description for a particular behavior, along with its effects, and identifies actions, mistakes, and related behaviors.
Whether you teach in a special education program or in a "regular" classroom, you probably encounter special kids facing special challenges. Education World brings you information about on-line resources that can help you better understand -- and help -- students with special needs. Education World searches the Web for sites that provide information about specific disabilities and suggest activities for classroom use.
LD OnLine offers hundreds of expert-reviewed articles and resources for educators, parents, and others concerned about children and adults with learning disabilities and attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD). Handling students with individual needs - and varying attention spans - can confound even the best teachers. Teachers can help their students with learning disabilities (LD) by creating a well-managed, structured classroom environment.
As part of the "Teachers Helping Teachers" Web site, these pages feature activities in math, language, and reading. Classroom management strategies are provided from teachers worldwide. The purpose, materials, and methods for each strategy are described. The strategies help educators use constructive and creative ways to teach, involve, and meet the needs of special education students.
This site offers a collection of classroom management tips and quick solutions from teachers. The Articles & Media section contains information in pertinent sub-sections: maintaining the learning environment, conducting class efficiently, reaching all students, and establishing and maintaining discipline. In addition, the site offers a character education section.
To help teachers create a peaceful environment, the site offers five strategies that do not involve raised voices. If students are not actively engaged in the lesson, they may become actively engaged in disruptive behavior. The five strategies described may help guide you to develop and implement effective classroom management techniques.
Awesome Library organizes the Web with 31,000 carefully reviewed resources. The Web site provides essential information for educators, teachers, parents, and staff on classroom management resources, tips, rubrics, etc.
A K-3 teacher resource site for busy teachers which includes free worksheets, units, lessons and education links. Classroom management refers to all of the things teachers do to organize students, space, time and materials to maximize effective teaching and student learning. The reader will find ideas for contests, school awards, and classroom organization.
Education World provides users with articles and book excerpts concerning classroom management that are written by education professionals. Most articles include a short biography of the author and a section of additional resources. Users can find additional tips and solutions in Classroom Management Tips and Dr. Ken Shore: The Classroom Problem Solver.
ProTeacher is a professional community for schoolteachers, specialists, and student teachers in grades preK-8. The ProTeacher Web site features more than two dozen active discussion boards, an extensive archive and directory of teacher-selected lesson plans, teaching ideas, and resources. The classroom management links are divided into four sections: behavior management, class meetings, new teachers, and organization.
Teachnet includes daily tips and creative ideas for busy teachers. The Web site contains lesson plans, teacher-to-teacher resources, and education mailing lists. The reader will find useful links for common classroom disturbances. The site also provides ideas to make your classroom more organized and fun.