It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Engineering 101 - The Right Tool for the Right Job: Research Databases
For access to the full-text of an article (either in print or online), look for and click on the icon. This will open another window indicating how you may have access through Hekman Library. Sometimes there is no access to the full-text of an article. This link explains why.
The Engineering Research Database covers the international journal and non-journal literature pertaining to all areas of engineering. Sources covered include over 3,500 periodicals, conference proceedings, technical reports, trade journal/newsletter items, patents, and books. The database contains full-text articles from several hundred journals.
The premiere database for all chemical research. If you do not have a user name and password, click on this link to register. (All Calvin users must register for a unique password! It's free and takes only a few minutes. However, the entire process may take up to one day - so plan ahead.)
Patents from Australia, Europe, and the United States. Patent Lens has a better search interface than the USPTO site (see below). It also provides PDF documents. The major disadvantage is that it does not highlight the primary class/sub-class for each patent.
The Energy Citations Database contains energy-related reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents from the Department of Energy. Subjects covered include chemistry, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, climatology, oceanography, and related disciplines.
The NLE virtually integrates information from Energy.gov (the DOE website) and all DOE program offices, national laboratories and other facilities. The NLE search feature provides one-stop access to information in DOE's broad mission areas: science and R&D; energy and technology for industry and homeowners; energy market information and analysis; and nuclear security and environmental management.
The Transportation Research Information Services database contains over half a million records of published transportation research from 1960 to the present including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Topics include planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation. Approximately 24,000 records link to full-text.
The United States Patent & Trademark Office website provides free access to patent documents including full text for patent grants since 1976, full page images since 1790, and patent applications published from March 2001 to present