Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering 101 - The Right Tool for the Right Job: Locate Sources

Locating Electronic Journal Articles

Text "Full-Text @ Hekman" in auburn letters boxed in auburn next to the Hekman logo.

You'll find this icon (or some variation) near every citation in nearly every research database.

If this window appears after clicking the Full-Text @ Hekman link, the library has access to the article you want.

Screenshot of Full-Text @ Hekman information for a specific journal.

However, there are a few things you should know. 

1 - We take liberties defining "full-text"! Full-text may mean an electronic copy, a physical copy found in our library, or a physical copy found in another library. You will be able to get a "full-text" copy of the article - It may be instantaneous (electronic), within 10 minutes (in the library), or within one week (interlibrary loan).

2 - The icon appears on every record in a research database, so linking to the electronic article is not guaranteed. The software is not smart enough to know if we have access until you click the link. There will be times when you arrive at a dead end.

3 - This message appears when there is no electronic access available. Note that an Interlibrary Loan option is provided.

Screenshot of Full-Text @ Hekman information of a journal that Hekman does not have access to.

4 - Where you end up after clicking the icon is uncertain. Most of the time, you will be taken directly to the article. Other times, you will be taken to the journal's web site and you will need to perform another search to locate the article.   

 

 

InterLibrary Loan & MelCat

InterLibrary Loan

  • ILL is offered free of charge to all members of the Calvin community 
  • Most ILL requests can be filled within 1-5 days. For items that are unique or must be requested from a distant library, the process can take several weeks. When your request is filled, you will receive an e-mail with an electronic copy attached, or you will be notified that the physical item is ready to be picked up (at the 2nd floor Circulation desk).
  • Link to the InterLibrary Loan page

MelCat

  • MelCat is a state-wide database representing the holdings of nearly every library in Michigan - more than 6 million unique book titles. When you search MelCat, you may request that an item be sent to Hekman Library for pick up at the main circulation desk on 2nd floor. The turn around time is 3-5 days.