Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Engineering 339 (Senior Design)

Advice for Searching and Finding

Locating Electronic Journal Articles

Text "Full-Text @ Hekman" in auburn letters boxed in auburn next to the Hekman logo.

You'll find this icon (or some variation) near every citation in nearly every research database - see illustration.

Screenshot of articles in a search result.This icon has vastly improved access to electronic journals by leading the researcher to electronic articles that the library has permission to access. However, there are a few things you should know. 

1 - The icon appears on every record in a research database, so linking to the electronic article is not guaranteed. There will be times when you arrive at a dead end. 

2 - Where you end up after clicking the icon is uncertain. Most of the time, you will be taken directly to the article. Other times, you will be taken to the journal's web site and you will need to perform another search to locate the article.   

3 - Full-text may mean an electronic copy, a physical copy found in our library, or a physical copy found in another library (interlibrary loan). You will be able to get a "full-text" copy of the article - It may be instantaneous (electronic), within 10 minutes (in the library), or within one week (interlibrary loan).

This message appears when there is no electronic access available. Note that an Interlibrary Loan option is provided.

Screenshot of Full-Text @ Hekman page for a specific article.

InterLibrary Loan & MelCat

InterLibrary Loan

  • ILL is offered free of charge to all members of the Calvin community 
  • Most ILL requests can be filled within 1-5 days. For items that are unique or must be requested from a distant library, the process can take several weeks. When your request is filled, you will receive an e-mail with an electronic copy attached, or you will be notified that the physical item is ready to be picked up (at the 2nd floor Circulation desk).
  • Link to the InterLibrary Loan page

MelCat

  • MelCat is a state-wide database representing the holdings of nearly every library in Michigan - more than 6 million unique book titles. When you search MelCat, you may request that an item be sent to Hekman Library for pick up at the main circulation desk on 2nd floor. The turn around time is 3-5 days.

Purchasing Information

Most of the time, the library can locate what you need free of charge from another library using InterLibrary Loan or MelCat. When that's not a possibility, there may be an access charge. Explore the options below first. If non of those bear fruit, contact me to discuss your next steps; the library will purchase resonably-priced access to sources.     

Elsevier Document Delivery Program

The library has a document delivery service with the publisher Elsevier. When you click on the Text "Full-Text @ Hekman" in auburn letters boxed in auburn next to the Hekman logo. link, the system will bring you to this screen. Only professors and librarians are able to complete the transaction. You may retrieve articles for students in your classes or refer students to a librarian. The document delivery fee is reasonable, but verify that the article is relevant for the student's project.

 

Screenshot of Full-Text @ Hekman page about a specific article.