Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Get Connected! with Hekman Library

Follow our quick orientation module to get connected to library resources and services

Welcome to Get Connected!

This guide is an orientation to Hekman Library's services and resources for Calvin University students, both online and on-campus. Keep reading to get answers to all your questions about accessing materials and getting more help from your online librarians!

Remember, always go through the library website to get electronic resources like ebooks or ejournal articles - just Googling any of our databases won't provide free access, like we do! To view the full text for our library resources, you may be prompted by the library system to log with your Calvin ID and passphrase if you are a Calvin University student (Calvin Seminary students should follow the alternative instructions). If you ever have any issues or questions about getting access to online resources, always ask a librarian for help.

Let's get started with a quick intro to the Hekman Library:

(Click on the thumbnails below to view either the on-campus or online videos)

Video Intro to the Library

Important Library Resources - Quick Links

Use Search Start to search the library catalog and major databases at the same time
Library Catalog - find books at Hekman, including online
Find Research Databases - search for a specific database or browse by subject
Electronic journal locator - quick access to Hekman's online journals

Library How-To Videos

Let's walk through some of the basic research skills and resources you'll use through Hekman Library online with these video tutorials (see tabs above).

You can find all these and new ones added frequently to the Hekman Library Youtube channel, including our playlist of short Hekman How-To videos, which covers how to locate library items in the building and online, how to make the best use of databases, and more!

Look up books and other items in the library collection by searching online.

Looking for online books for your classes? Find them through the library catalog or ebook databases.

What is SearchStart? The perfect tool to look up books and articles for your research at the same time.

Looking for a book Hekman doesn't own? You can use MeL to request items from other libraries for free.

Help at Hekman

The library offers personal research help in several different ways (online, in person, etc.), answering all kinds of questions. Both on and off-campus, there are librarians available and eager to help you! If you prefer in-person help, visit our Research Assistance Desk (on the 2nd floor, open this fall from 9am-10pm, Monday-Friday) to talk with our librarians and student research consultants, or see our 2nd floor circulation desk for questions about your library account and item requests. For more online help, check out the links below to find multiple ways of contacting the library:

Photo at right, taken by Dan Wells: Hekman Library's Research Librarian team!