Skip to main content

Using Hekman Library Online

Overview of resources available and research strategies for library learning online

E-resources at Hekman

Hekman Library has over 36,000 e-journals and over 100 subscription databases, as well as hundreds of thousands of ebooks - most of these are indexed in the library catalog, and there are also a few specific tools on the library homepage to explore e-journals and databases. Click the links here to connect with these tools and check out the videos below for more tips on searching for and within these resources:

Remember! Always go through the library website to get electronic resources - just Googling any of our database won't provide free access, like we do! To view the full text for our library resources, you may be prompted by the library system to log with your Calvin ID and passphrase if you are a Calvin University student (Calvin Seminary students should follow the alternative instructions). If you ever have any issues or questions about getting access to online resources, always ask a librarian for help.

Quick Links for E-resources

Screenshot of library homepage, red circles drawn around important resources   Screenshot of library catalog zoomed in on "limit to" bar changes

Resources for Background Research

Reference Sources

Encyclopedias and dictionaries are examples of reference sources which provide short articles or entries of general information on a subject. They are a great place to start if you are not very familiar with your topic and need a general overview - they can also give you ideas of how to explore more, by explaining key concepts and questions in the field and listing sources for further reading. Besides the print reference sources you can find in the library, you can also use our online reference databases, such as Gale Ebooks, Sage Knowledge, and Oxford Reference Online.

Research Guides

Did you know that our librarians have put together guides for different subjects, and even some classes, to give suggestions of sources for your research? These are called Libguides, or research guides. On each guide, you'll find links to reference sources and more specific resources in print and online that are specific to the subject or class, like Art and Art History or ARTS 356, as well as contact information for the research librarian who made the guide - the perfect person to talk to for more help and ideas! You can find a list of all the research guides on the library website here

Screenshot of Gale Ebooks search page, results for "climate change"       Screenshot of Research Guide for Art and Art History, shows webpage with blocks of text and images

Library Video Tutorials

This video will introduce you to Search Start, the Hekman discovery tool for items in the library collection and some of its select databases, as well as some tips for how to be flexible in your search with keywords and search limiters.

This video will build on the Search Start video by giving more tips for how to search efficiently using Advanced Search options (the demonstration is shown in Search Start's view of the library catalog, but many of these techniques can also be used in databases).

This video will show you how to select from the many research databases accessible through Hekman online. Remember that off-campus, you will need to be logged in through the library website to ensure your free access.

This video will discuss where to look for full-text articles, including how to get them from other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

Update: At this time, MeL/ILL book requests are unavailable and article requests are being reviewed on an individual basis - feel free to message the library for more information or help finding alternative articles.