Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Music

Librarian-curated guide for Music resources.

Recommended Online Music Sources

Special Resource: Audio Recordings and Sheet Music in the Cayvan Collection

View of Cayvan Collection in Hekman Library - several bookcases and filing cabinets with LP records,DVDs, and CDs          Close-up of paper signs describing organization of worship music CDs in the Cayvan filing cabinets

The Cayvan Recorded Media Collection is on the main level of the Hekman Library and houses all of its movies, music, audiobooks and other multimedia items. Here, you can find and check out CDs, DVDs, and even LP records with music of many different genres, including worship music!

CDs are stored in the grey file cabinets, which you can freely browse - mainly, you'll find worship music in Cabinet #6, popular music (including world music and ethnic American music) in Cabinet #5, and classical and popular music (including Christian rock/pop) in Cabinet #4. The signs above these cabinets will show you the subgenres in which they are organized, but you can always ask a librarian if you need help finding a particular item. Remember, Cayvan materials can only be checked out for 7 days (then renewed only twice).

The Choral Music Collection in Hekman Library contains sheet music for hundreds of choir pieces - perfect for choral and worship studies! The collection is now also housed in the Cayvan shelves, in blue binders which are organized by voice arrangements (SA, SATB, etc.) The best way to look through this collection is actually to use the Calvin Choral Music Database online - this database here allows you to search through the records for music by keyword, title, composer, musical period, voicing, language, and more! 

You can feel free to make copies of the music here (if its copyright has expired and it is part of the public domain), or talk to a librarian if you need more help.