It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian-curated research guide for Political Science resources.
SIPRI is an independent international institute dedicated to research into conflict, armaments, arms control and disarmament. It provides data, analysis and recommendations to policymakers, researchers, media and the interested public. Based in Stockholm, Sweden, SIPRI is regularly ranked among the most respected think tanks worldwide.
The Correlates of War project is an academic study of the history of warfare. It was started in 1963 at the University of Michigan. Concerned with collecting data about the history of wars and conflict among states, the project has instigated quantitative research into the causes of warfare.
Freedom House is an independent watchdog organization dedicated to the expansion of freedom and democracy around the world. It analyzes challenges to freedom, advocates for greater political rights and civil liberties, and supports frontline activists to defend human rights and promote democratic change.
Includes such things as "country profile" with data on worldview, people, and environment (to name a few); economic forecasts for each country, a "climate change knowledge portal," ongoing projects of the World Bank Group in each country, country surveys, and more.
A "fragile state" is one that has experienced the loss of physical control of its territory, an erosion of legitimate authority to make collective decisions, an inability to provide reasonable public services, and no ability to interact with other states as a full member of the international community. The Fund for Peace is a world leader in developing practical tools and approaches for reducing conflict.
This comprehensive website summarizes the United States' relationships with every country in the world. For example, click on Cuba and read up on U.S. policy toward Cuba, travel and trade restrictions, and many other government reports.
The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
Provides scholars, students, policy makers, and the general public with a single destination for accessing publications, journals, and data published by the United Nations Secretariat, and its funds and programs.
The Parallel History Project on Cooperative Security provides new scholarly perspectives on contemporary international history by collecting, publishing, and interpreting formerly secret governmental documents.
From International Conflict Research Institute. The CDS provides a comprehensive and detailed database on conflicts and conflict-related issues worldwide. Features an online database of peace agreements.
A LibGuide from Boston University Law Libraries. An interesting feature is a "treaty by topic" page that divides treaties up into subject areas, such as terrorism, trade, human rights, environmental, and criminal.
The Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion. The Center exists to promote the intelligent, responsible, and imaginative use of public opinion in addressing the problems faced by Americans and citizens of other nations.
The Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. They seek to advance and expand social and behavioral research, acting as a global leader in data stewardship and providing rich data resources and responsive educational opportunities for present and future generations.