Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Calvin

Hekman Library Guides

Reference Collection

Librarian-curated guide to finding and using the reference collection, both print and online

Welcome to the Library Guide for Reference!

This guide will give you  an introduction to our general reference collection on the library's main floor. (It does not include information about the Theological Reference Collection, which is on the 4th floor). Reference books are to be used for introductions and overviews of a topic. Our collection has books on every subject taught at Calvin. Reference books may be checked out of the library for a period of one week with no renewals. 

Citing Reference sources

Articles from reference books should be cited in the following way:

  • MLA:
    • (online source) Ortega, Robert M., and Roxanna Duntley-Matos. "Cultural Sensitivity in the Context of Cultural Humility." Encyclopedia of Social Work. July 30, 2020. NASW Press and Oxford University Press.  https://oxfordre.com/socialwork/view/10.1093/acrefore/9780199975839.001.0001/acrefore-9780199975839-e-1287 
    • (print source) "Ideology." The American Heritage Dictionary. 5th ed. 2011. Print. 
  • APA:
    • (online source) Ortega, R., & Duntley-Matos, R. (2020, July 30). Cultural Sensitivity in the Context of Cultural Humility. Encyclopedia of Social Work. Retrieved 1 Dec. 2020, from https://oxfordre.com/socialwork/view/10.1093/acrefore/9780199975839.001.0001/acrefore-9780199975839-e-1287.
    • (print source) Houghton Mifflin Harcourt. (2011). Ideology. In The American Heritage Dictionary (5th ed., p. 427).
  • Chicago:
    • (online source) Ortega, Robert M., and Roxanna Duntley-Matos. "Cultural Sensitivity in the Context of Cultural Humility." Encyclopedia of Social Work. 30 Jul. 2020; Accessed 1 Dec. 2020. https://oxfordre.com/socialwork/view/10.1093/acrefore/9780199975839.001.0001/acrefore-9780199975839-e-1287.
    • (print source) Not necessary to create a reference list entry for well-known reference works. Use author-date style in the body of your paper. For less well-known reference works, follow this template: Author Surname, Author Forename. Title. City: Publisher, Year published.