Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Religion and Theology

Librarian-curated research guide for Religion and Theology resources.

Dig Deeper into Biblical Studies

This page provides some of the many resources available to help you dig into Biblical studies. Remember that reference sources such as dictionaries and encyclopedias can provide you with quick insights into different Bible themes, characters, places, interpretations, and interpreters. You can also use commentaries to explore different sections or books of the Bible in depth. And as always, the theological librarians are available to provide suggestions and help with this topic.

Featured Reference for Biblical Studies

An Introduction to the New Testament
The Blackwell Companion to the New Testament
An Introduction to the Old Testament
A Survey of the Old Testament
The New Moody Atlas
Dictionary of Major Biblical Interpeters
The Bible in English Literature
Dictionary for Theological Interpretations of the Bible
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels
The Anchor Bible Dictionary
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible
A Concise Hebrew and Aramaic Lexicon of the Old Testament
A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature

Special Resource: Bible Gateway

Bible Gateway is a searchable online Bible site - it includes over 200 versions and 70 languages of the Bible, as well as audio. The site and app also include devotionals, news, and other free resources.

Looking for Commentaries?

We have a separate guide just for Bible Commentaries, which you can explore for more extended recommendations. We also suggest you take a look at these and other commentary surveys to get you started - these reference sources list and review different commentaries, providing you with important information about the doctrinal perspectives and subject focuses guiding different series.