It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian-curated research guide for American History resources
American Memory is the online resource compiled by the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program. It is a gateway of rich primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States. The side offers more than 7 million digital items from more than 100 historical collections.
A digital publishing initiative that provides images, texts, and audio files related to Southern history, literature, and culture, from the colonial period through the first decades of the 20th century. Currently DocSouth includes seven thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history, interviews, and songs.
The Mountain West Digital Library is a central search portal for digital collections about the Mountain West region. It provides free access to over 650,000 resources from universities, colleges, public libraries, museums, historical societies, and government agencies, counties, and municipalities in Utah, Nevada, and other parts of the U.S. West.
With 1,316 entries contributed by more than one thousand scholars, this groundbreaking reference work captures what is vital and interesting about the Great Plains—from its temperamental climate to its images and icons, its historical character, its folklore, and its politics.
This digital collection was created in consultation with Native Americans, educators, librarians, and historians. The overall organization of the database is by tribe, including: Crow, Cheyenne, Blackfeet, Salish (Flathead), Kutenai, Chippewa-Cree, Gros Ventres (Atsina), and Assiniboine. The collection consists primarily of images, but includes some text to give context. Most of the images are photographs, but there are also ledger drawings, serigraphs, paintings and other media.
Consists of photographs of Indians of the Americas and views of the American West, including landscapes, cityscapes, and mining, railroad, and agricultural operations. Also included are views of towns in Mexico. The bulk of the photographs date from the 19th century.
The Online Nevada Encyclopedia is a publicly funded non-profit organization dedicated to engaging Nevadans in the intellectual, cultural, and civic life of the communities in which they live, and to preserving and making accessible Nevada’s rich and unique history and heritage.
(Currently Unavailable) Utah's Online Library is a consortium of libraries that provides public libraries with great online resources: OverDrive, RBdigital, EBSCOhost databases, LearningExpress Library, HeritageQuest Online, Utah Newspapers, and more.
The American Heritage Center is the University of Wyoming's repository of manuscripts, rare books, and the university archives. Its collections focus on Wyoming and the Rocky Mountain West (including politics, settlement, and western trails) and a select handful of national topics.
Get in touch with Wyoming’s past through historical and archived Wyoming Newspapers. Historians, genealogists, students, and scholars will find a wealth of reliable information here, all first-hand accounts of local news from days gone by.
The Montana Memory Project encourages cultural institutions to digitize historic and contemporary resources reflecting Montana's rich cultural heritage and to make them freely available for lifelong learning.
Works to digitize collections owned by UNLV Special Collections with the goal of making them more accessible to users by putting them online and contributing content to regional and national digital library collaborations.
This library provides a sustainable learning environment that meets the space, computing, and information needs of the UHM academic community. It is a premier resource for Hawaii, Pacific and Asia-related research and facilitates access to knowledge throughout the world and contributes unique content to global networked information resources.
Calisphere provides free access to unique and historically important artifacts for research, teaching, and curious exploration. Discover over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more.