It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Librarian-curated research guide for World Religions resources.
The 3rd edition, currently being issued in four 150--page fascicles per year. Includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the twentieth century; expansion of geographical focus to include all areas where Islam has been or is a prominent or dominant aspect of society; attention to Muslim minorities all over the world
Provides a general orientation to the study of the text, content, interpretation, and application of the Qur'an, with bibliography and suggested further readings.
Also available in print on the 4th floor.
A bibliography of the literature of Islam as presented in English translation. Entries are organized into the areas of canonical literature, interpetation of scripture and tradition, law, theology, and philosophy. Includes suggestions for secondary reading.
A multi-disciplinary, multi-authored guide to Jewish life and thought. This book covers the major areas of thought in Jewish Studies, including considerations of religious differences, sociological, philosophical, and gender issues, geographical diversity, inter-faith relations, and the impact of the Shoah (the Holocaust) and the modern state of Israel
Provides a comprehensive and critical guide to the various literatures, traditions, and practices of Hinduism. Each of its 24 chapters is organized around a noun or adjective derived from the Sanskrit language.
A comprehensive reference that covers a wide range of subject areas, including beliefs, rituals, art, celebrations, sacred places, history, religious organizations, biographies of Hinduism and related areas of Indian culture and history.
Each of the twenty-eight essays in this work treats a specific topic, historical period, or school following a four-part pattern: history, texts, worldview, and practices, concluding with a bibliography. Volume 2 contains separate subject, title, name, and place indexes. Located in the general collection on the 4th floor.